Skip to Content
All Comparisons

HypaVault vs SPVWhy Encryption Matters More Than a PIN

HypaVault encrypts every file with AES-256-GCM, while SPV’s listing promises PIN protection but makes no claim to encrypt your files.

Coming Soon toApp StoreComing Soon toGoogle Play
HypaVault
vs
SPV

Meets these 10 privacy basics

HypaVault10 of 10
SPV1 of 10

The Short Answer

SPV is well rated and keeps files only on the phone, but its listing promises PIN protection without ever claiming to encrypt your files, and its free version shows ads. Its decoy and break-in features appear only in user reviews, not in the current listing, and it describes no backup, warning that deleting the app deletes everything in it. HypaVault encrypts every file, name and thumbnail with AES-256-GCM, carries no advertising, backs each vault up as an encrypted file you keep, and has a documented duress passcode that erases your real vaults. For photos that must stay private, documented encryption beats a PIN with no encryption claim behind it.

  • HypaVault encrypts every file with AES-256-GCM, while SPV’s listing promises PIN protection but makes no claim to encrypt your files.
  • SPV’s free version shows ads and its decoy appears only in user reviews; HypaVault carries no advertising and has a duress passcode that opens an empty vault and erases the rest.
  • SPV describes no backup and warns that deleting the app deletes your files, while HypaVault backs each vault up as an encrypted file you keep.

Feature by Feature

The 10 things that decide whether a vault really keeps your files private.

HypaVault and SPV compared, feature by feature
FeatureHypaVaultSPV
Files encrypted on the phoneYesNot stated
Works without an account or emailYesNot stated
Files stay on your phoneYesYes
Ad-freeYesNo
Duress passcode that erases dataYesNo
Decoy or empty vaultYesNot stated
Calculator or clock disguiseYesPartly
Separate hidden vaultsYesNot stated
Encrypted backup you keepYesPartly
Pay-once optionYesNot stated

What You'll Pay

SPV's prices as listed in the US stores, checked 27 October 2026.

HypaVault

Free
A full encrypted vault, with limits
Yearly
$24.99 a year, after a 3-day free trial
Pay once
$39.99, with no renewals

SPV

Free
With ads; item limit not published
Premium
Weekly, monthly or yearly, “from USD 2.99” per the listing
Listed prices
$4.99 to $39.99, all named “Premium”; Apple lists no periods
Free trial
7 days on the yearly plan

Where They Really Differ

Encryption, in Reality

SPV

SPV’s listing promises PIN protection and says files stay in the phone’s internal storage, but it never claims to encrypt them, and Maple Labs’ general privacy policy, which doesn’t name SPV, says only that it uses “industry-standard technologies and procedures” to protect personal information. We found no independent security analysis.

HypaVault

Every file, name, folder, note and thumbnail is encrypted on the phone with AES-256-GCM before it's saved, each file with its own random 256-bit key. A copy of the files is unreadable without your passcode and the phone's own device key.

Account Dependency

SPV

The listing describes a PIN-protected vault and says the app “does not keep your photos or data on any kind of server,” using the phone’s internal storage only. It also warns that deleting the app deletes everything in it, and describes no backup. A 2022 reviewer reported that an update began requiring an email address for lost-PIN recovery; we couldn’t confirm whether that’s still so.

HypaVault

Setup is a 6-digit passcode and a 12-word recovery phrase. You never give HypaVault an email or a phone number, so there's no login to phish and your vault never depends on a company sign-in.

Ads and Data

SPV

The free version shows ads: Maple Labs’ privacy policy names AdMob as an advertising partner, and reviewers describe frequent ads for non-subscribers. Its self-reported App Store label lists identifiers, usage data including advertising data, and diagnostics as data used to track you, with third-party advertising among the purposes.

HypaVault

HypaVault is paid for by people who choose Pro, never by advertising. Its only outside service is RevenueCat, which records purchases and never sees your vaults.

Protection Under Pressure

SPV

Reviewers describe a fake passcode that opens an empty vault (from 2021) and a break-in alert that photographs whoever gets the passcode wrong (2021 and 2022), but neither appears in the current listing. An April 2026 reviewer reports that entering the decoy code briefly shows the real vault’s contents. We found no passcode that erases data.

HypaVault

A second passcode for when you're forced to unlock. It looks like a normal unlock and opens an empty vault, while every other vault on the phone is erased in one silent step. Your backups bring them back later.

What People Say About SPV

Recurring themes in public App Store and Google Play reviews and discussions, checked 27 October 2026. Follow the links to read them.

1

Photos Held Behind a Paywall

Reviewers say they hit an item cap after storing photos, and that batch export and emptying Recently Deleted need Premium.

App Store reviews

2

Everything Lost on a New Phone or Reinstall

Because files live only on the phone, reviewers who changed phones or reinstalled the app report losing everything, paying subscribers included.

App Store reviews

3

Heavy Ads and Upgrade Prompts

Free users complain of frequent ads, including one every time the app opens, and constant prompts to upgrade.

App Store reviews

4

Locked Out After a Forgotten PIN

Reviewers who forgot their PIN, as recently as 2026, report finding no way to reset it or reach the developer.

App Store reviews

5

Paid Users Asked to Pay Again

Subscribers report the app asking them to pay again, or failing to restore a purchase on a new phone, and say support never replied.

App Store reviews

Why HypaVault Is the Better Choice

  • Files encrypted on the phoneAES-256-GCM, with a key for every file.
  • Works without an account or emailA passcode and a recovery phrase, nothing more.
  • Ad-freePaid for by Pro, never by advertising. SPV doesn't offer this.
  • Duress passcode that erases dataOpens an empty vault and erases the rest. SPV doesn't offer this.
  • Decoy or empty vaultThe duress passcode opens an empty vault.
  • Calculator or clock disguiseWorking calculator or alarm clock, with matching icon.
  • Separate hidden vaultsUp to three, none aware of the others.
  • Encrypted backup you keepOne encrypted .hypa file per vault, checked before it's saved, kept where you choose.
  • Pay-once option$39.99 once, or $24.99 a year.

HypaVault vs SPV: Questions

What people ask when choosing between HypaVault and SPV.

  1. For privacy, yes. SPV’s listing promises PIN protection but makes no claim to encrypt your files, its free version shows ads, and it describes no backup, so deleting the app deletes everything. HypaVault encrypts every file, name and thumbnail with AES-256-GCM, carries no advertising, backs each vault up as an encrypted file you keep, and has a duress passcode that erases your real vaults.

  2. Its listing doesn’t say so. SPV describes PIN protection and on-device storage but never mentions encryption, and we found no independent analysis. HypaVault encrypts every file on the phone with AES-256-GCM before it’s saved, each with its own random 256-bit key.

    Read the Help Article
  3. Its listing describes no sign-up: the vault is PIN-protected and stored only on the phone. A 2022 reviewer reported that an update began requiring an email address for lost-PIN recovery, and we couldn’t confirm whether that’s still the case. HypaVault never asks for an email: setup is a 6-digit passcode and a 12-word recovery phrase.

    Read the Help Article
  4. Yes, in the free version. Maple Labs’ privacy policy names AdMob as an advertising partner, reviewers describe frequent ads for non-subscribers, and SPV’s App Store label lists identifiers and advertising data as used to track you. HypaVault carries no advertising, and nothing in it reports what you do.

    Read the Help Article
  5. Not one that erases data, as far as its listing shows. Reviewers report a fake passcode that opens an empty vault, and one in 2026 says it briefly showed the real contents, but the current listing doesn’t mention it. HypaVault’s duress passcode looks like a normal unlock, opens an empty vault and erases every other vault in one silent step. Your backups bring them back later.

    Read the Help Article
  6. SPV is free with ads, and its listing says Premium starts “from USD 2.99,” billed weekly, monthly or yearly, with a 7-day free trial on the yearly plan. Apple lists Premium purchases from $4.99 to $39.99 without saying which period each covers, and reviewers mention a one-time option we couldn’t confirm. HypaVault is $24.99 a year after a 3-day free trial, or $39.99 once, and it carries no advertising.

    Read the Help Article
  7. Yes. Export your photos and videos from SPV to your photo library or Files, then import them into HypaVault, which encrypts the photos, videos and documents you choose. Reviewers report that batch export needs SPV Premium. Once your files are safely in HypaVault, delete the originals if you want them kept only there.

    Read the Help Article
  8. SPV’s listing doesn’t describe how to recover a forgotten PIN. A 2022 reviewer said an update added email-based PIN recovery, yet reviewers as recently as 2026 report being locked out with no way to reset it. HypaVault gives you a 12-word recovery phrase that resets a forgotten passcode; it’s shown once and never stored, so nobody, including Cyberdunes, can recover it for you.

    Read the Help Article

Switch from SPV to HypaVault

Start free on iPhone, iPad or Android. Choose a passcode, write down your recovery phrase, and move your private files into a vault that's encrypted on your phone.

Coming Soon toApp StoreComing Soon toGoogle Play

HypaVault is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by Maple Labs Co., Ltd (seller: Maple Labs Company Limited). SPV - Secret Photo Vault and its app icon are trademarks of their owner, shown only to identify the app. Details about SPV come from its store listings, website and public reviews, checked 27 October 2026. Prices and features can change; check the store listing for the latest.

Sources