Skip to Content
All Comparisons

HypaVault vs Safe LockReal Encryption or Just a Lock?

HypaVault encrypts every file with AES-256-GCM, while Safe Lock’s listing and terms never say its files are encrypted.

Coming Soon toApp StoreComing Soon toGoogle Play
HypaVault
vs
Safe Lock

Meets these 10 privacy basics

HypaVault10 of 10
Safe Lock3 of 10

The Short Answer

Safe Lock - Hidden Photo Vault, the most-rated photo vault called Safe Lock on the US App Store, keeps your photos on your device and opens a fake gallery with a fake password, but neither its listing nor its terms say your files are encrypted. Several App Store reviewers report that passcode protection switched off when the Premium trial ended, and that without paying they could export only one photo at a time. HypaVault encrypts every file with AES-256-GCM, runs on Android as well as iPhone and iPad, and adds a duress passcode that erases your other vaults when you’re forced to unlock. For files that must stay private, HypaVault is the stronger choice.

  • HypaVault encrypts every file with AES-256-GCM, while Safe Lock’s listing and terms never say its files are encrypted.
  • Several App Store reviewers report that Safe Lock stopped asking for their passcode when the Premium trial ended, unless they paid.
  • HypaVault’s duress passcode erases your other vaults when you’re forced to unlock, while Safe Lock’s fake password opens a fake gallery and isn’t advertised to erase anything.

Feature by Feature

The 10 things that decide whether a vault really keeps your files private.

HypaVault and Safe Lock compared, feature by feature
FeatureHypaVaultSafe Lock
Files encrypted on the phoneYesNot stated
Works without an account or emailYesYes
Files stay on your phoneYesYes
Ad-freeYesNot stated
Duress passcode that erases dataYesNo
Decoy or empty vaultYesYes
Calculator or clock disguiseYesPartly
Separate hidden vaultsYesPartly
Encrypted backup you keepYesPartly
Pay-once optionYesNot stated

What You'll Pay

Safe Lock's prices as listed in the US stores, checked 27 October 2026.

HypaVault

Free
A full encrypted vault, with limits
Yearly
$24.99 a year, after a 3-day free trial
Pay once
$39.99, with no renewals

Safe Lock

Download
Free; reviewers describe a Premium trial of about a week to a month
Premium
$4.99, $19.99 or $29.99, each listed only as “Premium Account”, with no billing period shown
Renewal
The listing says subscriptions renew automatically
Lifetime
Reported by reviewers; which price it is isn’t stated

Where They Really Differ

Encryption, in Reality

Safe Lock

Safe Lock calls itself “the most secure and private app in the App Store”, but its listing and terms never mention encryption. The terms describe a storage area protected by a PIN code or fingerprint, and no independent audit or published research on the app was found. Whether files are encrypted on the phone isn’t stated.

HypaVault

Every file, name, folder, note and thumbnail is encrypted on the phone with AES-256-GCM before it's saved, each file with its own random 256-bit key. A copy of the files is unreadable without your passcode and the phone's own device key.

Account Dependency

Safe Lock

Safe Lock opens with a PIN, pattern, password, Face ID or Touch ID, and its listing describes no sign-up. Its privacy policy, though, mentions registering with Safe Lock services and giving a phone number, which doesn’t match the App Store label of “Data Not Collected”. Whether a forgotten passcode can be recovered by email isn’t stated.

HypaVault

Setup is a 6-digit passcode and a 12-word recovery phrase. You never give HypaVault an email or a phone number, so there's no login to phish and your vault never depends on a company sign-in.

Ads and Data

Safe Lock

The App Store listing indicates no advertising, and its privacy label reads “Data Not Collected”. A 2021 update note says the developer removed all third-party SDKs, and reviewers praise the app for being ad-free, though one 2023 review mentions minimal ads.

HypaVault

HypaVault is paid for by people who choose Pro, never by advertising. Its only outside service is RevenueCat, which records purchases and never sees your vaults.

Protection Under Pressure

Safe Lock

Safe Lock’s fake password opens a fake gallery that hides the real vault, and the app offers break-in reports with photos. No passcode that erases data is advertised. One 2023 reviewer reports that the decoy option disappeared after buying a lifetime upgrade.

HypaVault

A second passcode for when you're forced to unlock. It looks like a normal unlock and opens an empty vault, while every other vault on the phone is erased in one silent step. Your backups bring them back later.

What People Say About Safe Lock

Recurring themes in public App Store and Google Play reviews and discussions, checked 27 October 2026. Follow the links to read them.

1

Passcode Removed When the Trial Ends

Several reviewers say that when the Premium trial lapsed, the app stopped asking for their passcode unless they paid, leaving their photos open to anyone holding the phone.

App Store reviews

2

Exports Limited to One Photo at a Time

Reviewers trying to leave report that without Premium they could export only one photo at a time, and one says they paid about $5 just to get their own photos out.

App Store reviews

3

Unclear Trial and Subscription

Reviewers say the app presents itself as free, doesn’t make clear when the trial ends, and then requires a subscription.

App Store reviews

4

Slow or Missing Support

Reviewers who were locked out or had billing questions report waiting weeks, and in one case nearly two years, without a reply.

App Store reviews

5

Crashes and Lost Photos

In 2026, reviewers report the app crashing on launch or showing a blank screen, cutting off access to their photos. Others report losing data when moving to a new phone.

App Store reviews

Why HypaVault Is the Better Choice

  • Files encrypted on the phoneAES-256-GCM, with a key for every file.
  • Ad-freePaid for by Pro, never by advertising.
  • Duress passcode that erases dataOpens an empty vault and erases the rest. Safe Lock doesn't offer this.
  • Calculator or clock disguiseWorking calculator or alarm clock, with matching icon.
  • Separate hidden vaultsUp to three, none aware of the others.
  • Encrypted backup you keepOne encrypted .hypa file per vault, checked before it's saved, kept where you choose.
  • Pay-once option$39.99 once, or $24.99 a year.

HypaVault vs Safe Lock: Questions

What people ask when choosing between HypaVault and Safe Lock.

  1. For privacy, yes. HypaVault encrypts every file with AES-256-GCM, while Safe Lock never says its files are encrypted, and HypaVault’s duress passcode erases your other vaults when you’re forced to unlock. HypaVault also runs on Android as well as iPhone and iPad, and costs $24.99 a year after a 3-day free trial, or $39.99 once.

  2. Safe Lock doesn’t say. Its App Store listing and terms never mention encryption; the terms describe a storage area protected by a PIN code or fingerprint, and no independent analysis of the app was found. HypaVault encrypts every photo with AES-256-GCM before it’s saved, each with its own random 256-bit key.

  3. Its listing describes no sign-up; the vault opens with a PIN, pattern, password, Face ID or Touch ID. Its privacy policy does mention registering with Safe Lock services, and whether a forgotten passcode can be recovered by email isn’t stated. HypaVault needs only a 6-digit passcode and a 12-word recovery phrase, with no sign-up and no email.

  4. Its App Store listing indicates no advertising, its privacy label reads “Data Not Collected”, and reviewers praise it for being ad-free, though one 2023 review mentions minimal ads. HypaVault carries no advertising either, and nothing in it reports what you do.

  5. Not one that erases data. Safe Lock’s fake password opens a fake gallery that hides your real vault, but the real vault is only hidden. HypaVault’s duress passcode looks like a normal unlock, opens an empty vault and erases every other vault on the phone in one silent step; your backups bring them back later.

  6. Safe Lock is free to download, and reviewers describe a Premium trial; the listing shows Premium Account purchases at $4.99, $19.99 and $29.99 without saying what period each covers, and says subscriptions renew automatically. Reviewers mention monthly, yearly and lifetime options. HypaVault is $24.99 a year after a 3-day free trial, or $39.99 once.

  7. Yes. Export them from Safe Lock to your photo library or Files, then import them into HypaVault, which imports the photos, videos and documents you choose. Reviewers report that without Premium, Safe Lock exports only one photo at a time, and one says they paid about $5 to get their photos out. Once they’re in HypaVault, delete the originals if you want them kept only in HypaVault.

  8. Safe Lock’s listing doesn’t say whether a forgotten passcode can be recovered by email, and reviewers who were locked out report waiting weeks for a reply from support. HypaVault gives you a 12-word recovery phrase instead. It’s shown once and never stored, and nobody, including Cyberdunes, can recover it, so keep it somewhere safe.

Switch from Safe Lock to HypaVault

Start free on iPhone, iPad or Android. Choose a passcode, write down your recovery phrase, and move your private files into a vault that's encrypted on your phone.

Coming Soon toApp StoreComing Soon toGoogle Play